The Journey Begins

Hi! Welcome to the first blog post on the official Away Away site. First blog posts always feel strange to write. It’s kind of like when you buy a nice new journal. Usually when I buy a really nice journal, it sits unused for at least 6 months. The better the journal, the longer it sits unused. Every time I look at it, I think to myself that I need to write in it, but if it’s really nice, I always have the feeling that I need to write something profound in it that is worthy of such a nice journal. I know that probably sounds a little weird.

I feel like that about blogs too. I like writing in general, but I’m not Shakespeare. Truthfully, I don’t really want to be Shakespeare. I don’t want to write stories that are brooding and melancholy, and that people are going to be analyzing for deeper meaning. I just want to write entertaining stories. They don’t have to all be fun stories, but they at least have to keep your attention along the way and make you feel like you’ve been somewhere or that you’ve been through Hell and back.

So there it is. My first post. It’s a start. I believe it was Lao Tse who said that “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

And so it begins.

memorycard2-242.jpg
Sunrise over the beach in Galveston, Texas
Leave a Reply

