Random Rambling

Okay, so what I want to know is this: How can it be that I used the air conditioning almost every day in February, and now that it is Spring Break, I am having to run the heater? I got into making quilts a while back, and I am glad I did. At this moment, I am snuggled up on the couch with a quilt and three dogs and am still a little chilly. Texas weather is just crazy.

DSC_0079

On a different note, I saw the new Disney film, Moana. It is amazing. I think it’s my favorite Disney film so far. Though frankly, anything is a welcome relief after Frozen. I have very strong feelings of disgust for the “Let it go” song. At least now little girls can aspire to be adventuring sailors instead of a moody ice princess who shoots ice from her fingers.

I kind of like the selection o movies we’ve had so far this year. We had a group of women who worked at NASA to send people to the moon. We have a cartoon sailor girl. This is shaping up to be a pretty good year for strong women characters. I think that we as a society have progressed in a sort of lopsided way when it comes to gender. We tell our girls that they need to to work hard and that they can be anything they want to be, but we don’t really follow through on that. I still see a lot of girls coming into my math classes with the idea that they don’t like math or that they are not good at math, when really, most of my best students are girls.

We tell our girls that they can be anything they want to be, but then we dress them up as princesses and discourage them from “dirty” activities like fixing anything mechanical or doing anything that requires them to think. I had a girl in one of my classes say recently that she wanted to maybe be a mechanic. The boy next to her immediately told her that she couldn’t do anything like that because she was a girl. I of course put an end to that discussion and shut him down pretty quickly. Having a penis does not automatically make a person smarter or better at fixing stuff. I would argue that having a penis means that a good portion of blood flow ends up being diverted away from the thinking centers a good bit of the time. I think in the past a lot of women have just let the men do those jobs because it was hot and they didn’t want to get their hands all dirty. I respect that, but I also think that there are times when you really need to know how to do these things.

For instance, if you are going to spend much time on a sailboat, it’s probably a good idea to know how to do the basic maintenance in case you ever find yourself in the middle of an ocean with an engine that won’t start. It’s my opinion that everyone on a sailboat should know how to sail it solo and also how to fix basic stuff just because you never know when the other(s) on board my get sick or be injured. If you are going to be adventurous, you at least need to know how to get yourself back home.

I apologize for the gender equality rant. It was International Women’s Day last week, and I’ve been thinking about the state of women in our country. I don’t want to get political on this site- I don’t want to lose the very few followers that I have, but at the same time, our country really is a mess right now. Our school rank consistently low. We are one of the only countries in the developed world that doesn’t have paid maternity leave. Don’t even get me started on the amount of vacation you get when you work in the corporate world.

Before I became a teacher, I worked as a structural engineer. I really like engineering, but I have to say, I’m not sure I would want to go back right away. As an engineer, I got two weeks off a year, and that included the time between Christmas and New Year. The time off I get as a teacher outweighs the pay cut for me- at least at this stage in my life.

Okay, that’s about all of the ranting I feel like doing. I’m going to be lazy now and probably watch Moana again. Oooh. Maybe I’ll make coffee. #life isbettercaffeinated.

#lovingspringbreak, #crazytexasweather, #Moanaisawesome

 

Leave a Reply

